top of page
Search

Smith Family Archive Vol.01

Updated: May 24, 2023


This project has been on my memory-keeping bucket list since 2018. An album dedicated to words and photos of just us before we became parents. An album celebrating the beginning of our life together. The stories of how we met, to when we learned we were expecting our first baby, and all the moments in between - our first apartment, getting married, our honeymoon, Kitikama, moving to and renovating our house.


I like to think of this album as a celebration and an expression of gratitude for those early years of our marriage. I also like to think our children will treasure this album as an heirloom someday - I know if I had something like this about my parents it would be a treasure.

 

The Challenge


I know this project will be challenging for a few reasons.

  • First, because we have nearly zero photos from those years. I did not value photos until I had children. Didn't even hire a wedding photographer!

  • Second, the photos we do have are digitally scattered all over the place. Old hard drives, cell phones, digital cameras, and even a digital photo frame.

  • Third, admittedly details from those years are a bit fuzzy. I usually journal with a lot of detail and I know with this album getting the gist of the story down is going to be better than agonizing over perfect details.

Working without photos, and pulling the images we do have together with limited journaling, feels like a daunting task, and I'm still excited to take on the challenge and see this album completed and on our shelves.

 

The Format


I made the intentional decision to create a 6x8 premium Milk Photobook. While 6x8 may seem small for a legacy album, I like this size for two reasons.

  • First, the majority of the photos we have are of poor quality. They were taken on old cell phones or digital cameras, and others are even physical photos I've scanned. By keeping the album on a smaller scale I am able to enlarge those photos without resolution issues.

  • Second, I like the hand-feel of this size while flipping the pages. Especially given that several spreads will only include words. It feels more like a novel than a photobook.

I will print with Milk Books because the significance of this album is too great for me to experiment with new photobook printers. I trust Milk Books and know the resulting album will stand the test of time.

 

The Products


Not surprisingly, I will use Wilson and Wilson Boutique digital templates and cards to support this album.


These 6x8 templates may be intended for documenting December, and I am still using them to create pages for this album. The design is exactly what I want for this album, and the Christmas-specific word art titles are easy to hide and adjust.


Usually, I would tell you I am narrowing my available products to make the process more efficient, and while that is a really smart idea, I am not taking that approach this time. I know it will make creating this album a bit less efficient, and that is ok. I am excited to dive into my stash of Wilson and Wilson cards to find the perfect fit for the story being told.

 

Final Thoughts


As I get started on this project I am immediately enjoying the nostalgia that has come from looking at old photos and chatting with my husband about story details. We don't remember the events exactly the same which has made for fun discussions, and among the hustle and bustle that is married life with three small kids, it has been a nice pause to reconnect just the two of us. Connecting about those shared experiences, laughing together, and reminding ourselves of just how grateful we are to call each other ours.


If you have made it to the bottom of this post, a heartfelt thank you. Please know that I appreciate you and value your time in being here. This community is so special, and it is a true privilege to have the opportunity to connect with you, thank you!


~Amberleigh

@memorykeepingmama


51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page