top of page
Search

Round up: Childhood Release Favorites

Updated: Dec 19, 2023

The Wilson|Wilson Childhood Collection release is massive. 6 Childhood Collections: [Book Matter, About Me, Family Life, Home Life, School Life, Everyday Life.] 475 pocket cards. 19-page prompt guide, and an included font file. As I said, massive.


This is a post all about my favorite cards (41 of them) from each of the 6 collections and how I plan to use them in my current memory-keeping projects.


I've categorized my favorite 41 cards into 4 types. Book Matter, Infographic, Color Typography, and Color Quotes. Let me tell you why I love them and how I'm adding them to my projects.

 

Book Matter


I get easily overwhelmed when I try to pull together a color palate on my own - too many options and too much time scrolling Pinterest. Having the colors already curated for me in this Book Matter collection is a huge efficiency gain and beautiful!


My favorite pieces include the dark front and back covers. I love these to begin and end my albums, they add a sophistication and finishing touch that feels elevated and professional. So thoughtful, I would never have thought to add cover and end pages to my books on my own.


This dedication page is so simple and so incredibly thoughtful. I love adding a dedication to my albums - I write them as a letter to my children since they are my intended and most significant audience.


After taking Catherine Saunders Family Archive Photobook Course these block color cards are vital! I use them for title pages and any story or section in the album that I want the reader to understand is significant - where I really want them to pause and read the words or linger on the image.

 

Infographic


I love fill-in-the-blank style cards. They direct my storytelling and make the process efficient. Whenever I experience writer's block or am short on time and want to create and get that sense of achievement for completing a page I go to one of these cards.


My favorite way to use cards like this is in a double-page spread paired with a photo enlargement.

 

Color Typography


SWOON! The minute I saw these cards in the collection I knew I was going to use all 9 of them. I love the editorial and classic vibe. I am layering text over the card and pairing them with a photo enlargement in multiple projects.


 

Color Quotes


I had the same head-over-heels reaction when I saw these color quote cards. I knew immediately I would be using all 10 of them in my projects. Similar to the color block cards I am using them strategically in my albums where I want the reader to understand what is significant - where I really want them to pause and read the words or linger on the image.

 

Final Thoughts


Motherhood and my children led me to memory-keeping. It is through the act of pairing words and photos that I can celebrate both the ordinary and extraordinary parts of their childhood. I truly cannot imagine ever letting go of this practice. The words and photos are my priority and finding thoughtful and timeless collections like the Wilson|Wilson Childhood Collection to support my documentation is a true gift.


If you have made it to the bottom of this post, a heartfelt thank you. Please know that I appreciate you and value your time in being here. This community is so special, and it is a true privilege to have the opportunity to connect with you, thank you!


~Amberleigh


43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page